Quiet day, but …

by ray goodlass

How’s it going, Ray?

Tip: You can also tag friends of your friends
 
Who are you with?
 
 
 
 

News Feed

  • ‎11 January: I finally made it to the Palestine Archaeology Museum, now named the Rockefeller, the re-naming of which I commented on yesterday. The museum was quite good in its coverage of Middle Eastern remains since the year dot, but not particularly Palestinian, unfortunately. I can see why politically the Israelis would wan t to wrap it up into their nationalistic bigger picture in the Israel Museum, but for someone who wants a fair deal for the Palestinians it is disappointing, to say the least.
     
    Interestingly though, there were some Canaanite exhibits, which I was pleased to see, because it is an acknowledgement that these lands were inhabited before Moses brought his flock to the ‘land of milk and honey’. I have read so often that the Zionists claim that Jewish people were the first peoples of this area, and I remember seeing television news footage of a young right wing settler using that argument to justify the land he was illegally claiming. So it is to a very small degree encouraging to see one minor, and almost hidden away, acknowledgement that there were some prior inhabitants
     
    The weather is clearing up, so hopefully tomorrow I’ll be able to get out and about more. And I think I am beginning to feel physically better – I’ve had what I thought was a bad cold for the last few days, but it turned out to be a bout of flu.
