‘From Gaza with love’ talk in Wagga very successful.

by ray goodlass

Monday’s visit by Palestinian Dr Mona El Farra was very successful. A good live interview on local ABC radio, an interview and photo published on Tuesday in the Daily Advertiser, and a very well attended ‘From Gaza with love’ talk at the Historic Council Chambers in the evening. Given the last minute nature of it all given the border crossing being closed and Mona being so tired, having only arrived in Sydney the day before, I’m very pleased I managed to organise it and get such a good response.

I’m a little surprised at how little most people who attended the talk knew about the situation in Palestine, though pleased that they were so keen to learn, of course.

I organised the event at the  behest of the Coalition for Justice and Peace in Palestine, which had contacted me out of the blue, I think at the suggestion of Greens colleagues who knew about my interest in a just peace and my trip to Palestine last summer. I’m very pleased to be able to do something to carry out my commitment to being an ‘ambassador for Palestine’ that I promised before we left Palestine.

I must join the Coalition for Peace and Justice in Palestine. 

